A Wonderful Opportunity

Last Fall I was awarded the Eugene A. Miller Fellowship by the McGregor Fund.* The Fellowship will allow me to investigate and research potential social enterprise opportunities for HAVEN. My key focus will be to measure opportunities based on best fit for HAVEN’s mission and the needs of survivors; seeking out a business model or venture that enhances the services we provide and that will also allow for survivor growth and autonomy.

As a part of the Fellowship, I have the wonderful opportunity to experience time away from HAVEN on sabbatical, both this summer as well as during the winter of 2015. This year, I will attend a summer program at Stanford University from July 14 through September 15, which focuses on social innovation as well as non-profit leadership. In addition to my academic experience, I will also have the fantastic opportunity of hiking in northern Arizona and southern Utah, an area of the country that I love.

In my absence the HAVEN Board of Directors named Marianne Dwyer, Director of Business Operations, and Emily Matuszczak, Senior Director of Programs, as interim co-CEO’s.

I am honored to have been selected to receive this remarkable opportunity. Not only is it a great opportunity for my professional and personal growth but a wonderful opportunity for other HAVEN staff to learn and grow as well.

I am excited to embark on this grand adventure and look forward to sharing what I’ve learned upon my return in September.

*The McGregor Fund is a private foundation established in 1925 by gifts from Katherine and Tracy McGregor “to relieve the misfortunes and promote the well-being of mankind.” The foundation awards grants to organizations in the following areas: human services, education, health care, arts and culture, and public benefit. The area of principal interest of the foundation is the City of Detroit and Macomb, Oakland and Wayne counties. The McGregor Fund has granted nearly $220 million since its founding and had assets of $164 million as of June 30, 2013. Visit www.mcgregorfund.org for additional information. HAVEN has been a beneficiary of the McGregor Fund for over 15 years.

Leave a comment

Filed under HAVEN news

Leave a Reply

